Founded in 1928 in Cincinnati, Ohio, the Ohio Valley Officials Basketball Officials Association is an OHSAA sanctioned officials association and training organization. Our referees serve high school leagues in the greater Cincinnati area.

    Live near Cincinnati and want to be a basketball referee?  Click here

Correctable Errors

Posted by | November 15, 2008 .

Correctable Errors

By Tony Lingardo

I have had quite a few questions posed to me regarding my Correcting Errors presentation. All of the questions pertained to the section regarding the failure to award a merited free throw and whether or not we line the players up along the lane and resume from the foul shot or whether we go to point-of-interruption. The key to this is whether or not there is a change of possession.

Rule 2-10-6 — Page 20

If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).

The following three Case Book plays refer to the failure to award a merited free throw. The first case involves no change of possession. The next two do have a change in possession. Please look at the cases. Hopefully, it will clear up some questions that remain.

As usual, please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Thanks….

Tony

*2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2. The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.

RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected.Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)

2.10.6 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled by B1. It is a non-shooting personal foul. It is Team B’s 7th foul of the half, but the official scorer fails to notify the officials and they award Team A the ball out of bounds. After the inbound pass, Team A misses a shot and Team B secures the rebound. Team B then misses a shot at their offensive end, and A1 secures the rebound. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. During the time-out, the officials are informed that Team A should have been awarded a bonus free throw situation on its previous possession.

RULING: The error can still be corrected. A1 shoots a bonus free throw situation with no players on the lane. Team A is then awarded the ball out of bounds nearest the spot where the time-out was requested. Since the error involves the failure to award a merited free-throw(s) and there has been a change in team possession, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted, after the error has been rectified.

2.10.6 SITUATION B: A1 is fouled by B1. It is a non-shooting personal foul. It is Team B’s 7th foul of the half, but the official scorer fails to notify the officials and they award Team A the ball out of bounds. After the inbound pass, Team A misses a shot and Team B secures the rebound. While Team B has the ball in its possession, B1 is charged with an illegal screen against A2. Before Team A is handed the ball for the throw-in, the officials are informed that Team A should have been awarded the automatic bonus on its previous possession.

RULING: The error can still be corrected. A1 shoots a bonus free throw situation with no players on the lane. Team A is then awarded a throw-in for B1’s team-control foul and play will continue from that point. Since the error involved the failure to award a merited free-throw(s) and there has been a change in team possession, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted after the error has been rectified.